top of page
  • Writer's pictureFagothethird Franklin

Chiefs named Patrick Mahomes as a candidate for Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

Patrick Mahomes has been the face of the NFL will his outstand play on the field, but off the field he has contributed to his community as well as globally in a positive manner. The Chiefs felt like it was only right to advocate for Mahomes as a candidate for the Payton Man of the Year award.

“The Chiefs organization and the Kansas City community could not ask for a better leader on the field and representative off of it, which is why we are honored to once again announce Patrick Mahomes as the club’s nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award,” Chiefs Chairman and CEO Clark Hunt said. “Patrick, along with his family and his foundation, truly exemplifies the characteristics that this award represents. Since his career began in 2017, he has demonstrated an ever-increasing commitment to bettering the communities around him. Patrick uses his platform to help those in need, and we feel that he is more than deserving of this high honor. We believe Patrick and his family will continue to impact and empower communities across the country for years to come.”

Mahomes had this to say about the honor. “It’s such an honor to be nominated again by the Chiefs as the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year,” Mahomes said. “As a dad of two, it means the world to me to be able to provide opportunities and support to underserved youth, and my family and I are so humbled to be in the running for an award that means so much to the Chiefs organization and to our community. It’s crazy to see the way 15 and the Mahomies has grown and continues to make more and more of a difference for kids here in Kansas City, across Texas and beyond. We know there is still so much work to be done, and we’re so grateful and humbled by the support that Chiefs Kingdom gives us and the foundation. It’s truly an honor to represent my foundation, Chiefs Kingdom, my family as well as the Payton family and Hunt family.”

The winner will be announced during NFL Honors.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page