top of page
  • Tarrian Rodgers

WWE brings back Slammy Awards as Wrestlemania approaches

WWE is putting the voice of one of its most important awards in the hands of the fans as wrestling’s version of the Grammy’s and the ESPY’s has returned in full force. This year's awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, April 7, and will be available to watch on WWE's official YouTube, X, Facebook, Twitch, and TikTok accounts. Fans in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for WWE WrestleMania 40 can attend the Slammys live as part of the WWE World interactive experience.

The origin of The Slammys dates back to 1986, with the company holding the annual ceremony on and off for certain periods. Over the years, winners have included Junkyard Dog, Diesel (AKA Kevin Nash), Beth Phoenix, John Cena, CM Punk, and Owen Hart. The last Slammy Award happened in 2020 when Drew McIntyre won superstar of the year and the Boneyard Match featuring AJ Styles vs The Undertaker won match of the year.

This year's Slammy Awards will be hosted by The New Day's Big E as well as Cathy Kelley and will include appearances from other members of the WWE roster. Voting is scheduled to open up to fans soon and will be available through Wednesday, March 27. Along with the Slammy festivities WWE World is set to feature a "WWE 2K24" tournament, roundtable discussions between WWE performers, live podcast recordings, and more. Tickets for WWE World are still available, with prices ranging between $30 and $300. The event will run from Thursday, April 4 until Monday, April 8, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page