top of page
  • Eric Martinez

NASCAR announced nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2024

Fifteen nominees were named for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024. The Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR also had five nominees announced as well. For many years, Jimmie Johnson dominated the NASCAR Cup Series, including winning seven times now eligible in his first year. He joins first year eligible, Chad Knaus as the prestigious first-time nominee. A fan-favorite of the Alabama Gang, Donnie Allison, joins the Pioneer ballot for the first time as well.

Modern Era ballots nominees tallied at ten nominees, and the Pioneer ballots included five. The Pioneer candidates were designed to honor those whose careers began more than 60 years ago. The Landmark Award honors individuals that made contributions to the growth and esteem of NASCAR. Former NASCAR executive, Lee Richter, has been nominated for the first time. The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel will meet August 2nd to vote and discuss the Class of 2023, including a Fan Vote and announced. Following the Class of 2023 voting, the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2024 nominees and Landmark Award nominees will then be announced as finalists for the prestigious Modern Era Ballot and Pioneer Ballot.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Modern Era Ballot nominees include: 18-time NASCAR Cup Series winner Neil Bonnett, Two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief Tim Brewer, 21-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jeff Burton, Car Edwards winner of 28 NASCAR Cup Series races and 2007 Xfinity Series Champion. Other nominees include Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, Harry Hyde 1970 NASCAR championship crew chief, Larry Phillips, first 5 NASCAR weekly series national champion and Ricky Rudd, 23-time NASCAR Cup Series champion in addition to the above-mentioned Jimmie Johnson, and Chad Knaus.

Each Pioneer Ballot nominee had multiple NASCAR Cup Series championships including Donnie Allison, Sam Ard, AJ Foyt, Banjo Matthews, Ralph Moody. The Landmark Award nominees include Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Lesa France Kennedy, Dr. Joseph Mattioli and Les Richter. The NASCAR Hall of Fame is located in Charlotte, North Carolina and will host the enshrinement for the voted and deserving nominees.

270 views0 comments


bottom of page